Plaza de la Corredera
Square in Córdoba
The Plaza de la Corredera is a rectangular main square, located in the center of Córdoba, Andalucia, Spain. It is 113 meters long and 55 meters wide is one of the largest squares in all of Andalusia It follows the model of the traditional Castilian Plaza Mayor square with arched porticos running around the ground floor. It has its entrance and exit through the so-called Arco Alto and Arco Bajo. During the reconstruction works, magnificent Roman mosaics were found which have been moved to the Alcázar de los Reyes Cristianos.
History of the Plaza de la Corredera
It is believed that until the 15th century , the Plaza de la Corredera was a large esplanade outside the walls of the Medina or the upper city of Córdoba. Executions were carried out there until 1838 and bullfights until 1846.
Buildings Around the Square
The current look of Corredera Square is the result of the works carried out between 1683 and 1687 by Chief Magistrate Francisco Ronquillo Briceño. The works consisted in the building of the bays of the façade, as well as the arcades on the ground floor and balconies on the three other floors.
Ronquillo Briceño’s remodelling did not touch the Vivienda del Corregidor or Chief Magistrate’s House. It is a Mannerist building built between 1583 and 1586. It had a prison, located in its basement, which remained there until 1821, when it was transferred to the Christian Alcázar. In the 19th century, 1846, the Cordovan businessman José Sánchez Peña, bought the building and installed the most modern industry in Córdoba with steam machines to create a factory of hats, installing the workers in the upper part of the building where they had their homes. In 1896 it became a large indoor market.
The other building that was not affected by the remodeling was Ana Jacinto de Angulo’s House, who objected that her house should be demolished to expand the square, and she even got the King of Spain Carlos II to agree with her through a royal decree.
Where does the Plaza de la Corredera get its name?
Bullfights were also held there, from which it receives its current name. For this, the bulls entered the plaza through a narrow alley known as that of the Toril. It was used in olden days as a bullring, and to this day there is a street named Toril or Bulls’ enclosure.
This website uses affiliate links which may earn a commission at no additional cost to you!
Visiting Plaza de la Corredera