Historic Building and Tourist Office in Ávila
Casa Carnicerías or House of meat / the butchers was thought to be built by Francisco de Mora between 1590 and 1591. Initially it was used as a warehouse for selling the wine that came into the town and later became the two main butcher’s shops.
The move of the main butcher’s shops led to a great amount of protest and they were returned to their original locations after a short period (Mercado Grande and Mercado Chico). In their place, the flour scales (used to control the grain and flower that came into the town) were moved there and remained in operation until the 19th century.
Its construction hindered ordinary traffic through the Gate of El Obispo, especially the cathedral chapter. The complaints led Felipe II to order, in 1597, the bricking-up of the Gate of El Obispo and the opening of a new gate through the House of Las Carnicerías, dividing the building into: one was used as a wine exchange and for the flour scales; and the other was used as an inn for judges and captains.
It is currently home to the Municipal Tourist Office and is one of the places where access can be gained to the allure of the walls.
This website uses affiliate links which may earn a commission at no additional cost to you!