Palacio del Rey Niño de Ávila
Palace in Ávila
Also known as the Episcope Building or the Old Old Palace, it was the former episcopal palace of Ávila. Originally it was a strong defensive house attached to the wall and its mission was to defend the door of the Cathedral of Ávila. It was abandoned as the seat of the bishop in 1775 and since then it has been dividing and establishing various official bodies, such as the post office, the public library, which still preserves the original door of the palace, in the Fruchel style, made of granite and topped by a coat of arms. The rest of the palace was destroyed and in its place was built the current post office building dating from the 16th century and which preserves part of the portal, a corner window and the Synod Hall.
The palace is known as the Child King because the chronicles of the time say that the future King Alfonso VII “the Emperor” was installed there, under the tutelage of Bishop Don Sancho, when he was transferred to Ávila to protect him until a ruling guardian.
This website uses affiliate links which may earn a commission at no additional cost to you!