Casa de Carnicerías (Ávila)
Historic Building in Ávila
The Casa de Carnicerías is a building in Ávila. It is built in the Walls of Ávila.
Attributed to Francisco de Mora, it was built, attached to the outer face of the wall, in 1590-1591 with the aim of establishing a warehouse to sell the wine that entered the city, also housing the two largest butcher shops.
The transfer of the largest butcher shops caused a large number of protests, prompting them to return to their starting places shortly after (Mercado Grande and Mercado Chico), and transferring, in exchange, the flour scales (which was used to control the grain and flour that entered the city), this continued until the 19th century.
Its construction had caused inconveniences for ordinary transit through the Bishop’s gate, mainly to the cathedral chapter. The complaints led Felipe II to prescribe, in 1597, the walling up of the Bishop’s gate and the opening of a new door through the Casa de Carnicerías, leaving the building divided into two: one served as a corn exchange for wine and a weight of the flour; and the other will continue to be used as an inn for judges and captains.
It currently contains the Municipal Tourist Office, being one of the access points to the wall.