Castillo de San Jorge
Castle and Museum in Seville
The Spanish Inquisition Museum or Castillo de San Jorge is adjacent to the Isabel II bridge in Triana. The official title of the museum is the Centro Temático de la Tolerancia or Thematic Center of Tolerance. The museum has information panels and video installations, which take viewers on a journey around the ruins and also allows you to see the cells where prisoners were held and read through several authentic documents from the trials. It’s not for the faint-hearted.
History of Castle of San Jorge
Built by the Visigoths more than 1000 years ago to protect Spalis from attacks and wars. When the troops of King Ferdinand III the Saint conquered the city in 1248, the castle became part of the Military Order of San Jorge, patron of the Knights.
The castle is steeped in notoriety for it was here that the infamous Spanish Inquisition had its headquarters from 1481 to 1785. The castle also held the prisoners before their tribunal. When the Inquisition finally ended in the early 19th century, the castle was destroyed and a market built over the top.
The castle was demolished in the 19th century to extend the Plaza del Altozano square to Castilla Street and its foundations were rediscovered in 1990.
Other names of Castillo de San Jorge
The Castillo de San Jorge has the following names: Spanish Inquisition Museum, Castillo de San Jorge, Centro Temático de la Tolerancia, Thematic Centre of Tolerance.
Visiting Castillo de San Jorge
Tuesday to Saturday: 10 am – 1.30 pm and 5 pm – 7.30 pm
Sunday and Bank holidays: 10 am – 2.30 pm