Weinhaus (Wine House)
Historic Building in Alsfeld
Started in 1538 by Hans von Frankfurt, the wine house served to store and serve wine and was therefore a municipal privilege. Transitional forms between Gothic and Renaissance can be clearly seen in the steep stepped gables with fan rosettes. The originally unevenly arranged charming “curtain arch windows” were replaced by round arch windows in 1840/43, some parts of the robe are still visible.
The former “pillory” is still located at the corner of the market square. This was considered a punitive instrument, and not just on market days.
Today, part of the city administration is housed here.