Portal de Francia, Pamplona

City Gate in Pamplona

Freanch Gate Pamplona
pixabay / SERGIO GARRIDO

The gateway of France, was built in 1553 by the Viceroy of Alburquerque, is the best preserved of the six belonging to the ancient city walls. Travellers from the neighbouring country entered and exited the city through this gate, hence its name. Of the two main doors making the portal, the one on the inside still bears a carved renaissance coat of arms depicting the double headed eagle and the imperial arms. A plaque commemorates the departure from Pamplona in 1833 of General Tomas Zumalacárregui to take up his place at the head of the Carlist troops. The gateway has also been known as the Zumalacárregui Gateway since 1939.

This is the gateway used since medieval times by pilgrims arriving in Pamplona on the way of St James.

Other names of Portal de Francia, Pamplona

The Portal de Francia, Pamplona has the following names: Zumalacárregui Gateway.

This website uses affiliate links which may earn a commission at no additional cost to you!

Visiting Portal de Francia, Pamplona

Hours:

24 Hours


Price:

Free

Address: Calle Carmen, 35, 31001 Pamplona, Navarra, Spain
Duration: 20 minutes

Tours and Activities from Pamplona