Monastery of São Martinho de Tibães
Monastery in Braga
The Monastery of São Martinho de Tibães is the ‘mother house’ for the Benedictine order of monks in both Portugal and Brazil, the Monastery of São Martinho de Tibães was founded in around 1060. The monastery has four cloisters and the most important is decorated with azulejos and a granite fountain at the centre. The church has beautiful golden woodcarving works.#
History of the Monastery of São Martinho de Tibães
The Monastery of Tibães, founded in 1060, rapidly accumulated great wealth by acquiring extensive land across northern Portugal. In 1567, it became the mother house of the Benedictine order in Portugal and Brazil. In the 17th century, the monastery’s wealth was used to rebuild the church, cloisters, chapter house, gatehouse, monks’ dormitory, guest house, and library. The church, built between 1628 and 1661 in the Mannerist style by Manuel Álvares and João Turriano, is a stunning masterpiece featuring gilded woodwork by André Soares. However, the monastery was dissolved in the 1830s, and its contents were sold off. The Portuguese state acquired the estate in 1986 and gradually restored it, opening a guest house and restaurant on the site.
What to see at the Monastery of São Martinho de Tibães
The monastery now welcomes visitors to its Cemetery Cloister, the monastery church, the General’s Gallery, the General Abbot’s Quarters, the Guest’s rooms, the Chapter Room, and the large garden with vineyards, fruit orchards, and vegetables. The various areas are decorated with azulejos tiling, wooden ceilings, and portraits of popes, monarchs, philosophers, and saints.
This website uses affiliate links which may earn a commission at no additional cost to you!