House of History, Dinkelsbühl

Historic Building and Museum in Dinkelsbühl

House Of History, Dinkelsbuhl
© 2024 Andrew Ashton

The remarkable structure, known as the “Stainhaus” or stone house, was first documented in 1361. It is a rectangular building that underwent expansions to its wings between 1524 and 1550. Serving as the town hall until 1855, the old town hall is a prominent setting each year for the ceremonial handover of the town to the “Kinderzeche” during the historic local festival, accompanied by the presence of the Lion Fountain and the nearby Wörnitz Gate. The “Haus der Geschichte” or House of History brings the town’s 800-year history back to life, providing insights into the question of “Why is Dinkelsbühl the way it is?”. Within the cellar vault, an exhibition on witch hunts is showcased, offering visitors a glimpse into the old prison cells as well.

The House of History, Dinkelsbühl appears in our Complete Guide to Visiting Dinkelsbühl!

This website uses affiliate links which may earn a commission at no additional cost to you!

Visiting House of History, Dinkelsbühl

Address: Haus der Geschichte Dinkelsbuhl Altrathauspl. 14 91550 Dinkelsbühl Germany
Duration: 20 minutes

Nearby Attractions

Tours and Activities from Dinkelsbühl