Museu do Abade de Baçal
Museum and Palace in Bragança
The former Episcopal Palace, built in the 18th century and once the official residence of bishops for half a year, was transformed into the Abade de Baçal Museum in 1915. The museum is named in honour of father Francisco Manuel Alves (1865-1948), also known as Abbot of Baçal, who had a passion for the history and art of the region and was instrumental in its creation.
The museum’s exhibits cover the religious, social, political, economic, and artistic history of Northeast Trás-os-Montes, along with memories of the former Bishop’s Palace. Artefacts and objects from hunter-gatherer and metallurgical societies document the prehistory and protohistory of the region. The museum also features funerary stelae, altars, milestones, farming tools, ceramics, and decorative objects that support the North-eastern Romanisation. It includes a section dedicated to national numismatics and jewellery of the 18th and 19th centuries, as well as a significant collection of furniture.
This website uses affiliate links which may earn a commission at no additional cost to you!
Visiting Museu do Abade de Baçal
9h30 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. | 2:00 p.m. to 6:00 p.m.
Closed: Mondays, 1 January, Easter Sunday, 1 May, 25 December.