Walk and Woods in Wester Ross
The well-sheltered Flowerdale Glen is home to a wide variety of plant and animal life and owes its English name to the impressive display of wildflowers which can be seen in spring and summer. A gentle walk passes Flowerdale House, built by the MacKenzies of Gairloch, in 1738, who still own much of the surrounding area. In the woods keep a look out for woodland birds such as great spotted woodpecker and spotted flycatcher. Follow the path marked ‘Waterfall Walk’ for a longer, and delightful, waymarked walk (3 miles / 4.75Km) up the glen. On the return from the waterfall, you pass a memorial to Iain Dall MacAoidh – the blind piper of Gairloch (Am Piobaire Dall), who was a famously-talented hereditary piper to the MacKenzies. He succeeded his father in the role and was succeeded by his son and grandson – these four MacKay pipers spanning two centuries as pipers to the MacKenzie lairds of Gairloch. The car park is opposite the turning for the harbour, across the bridge from the Inn. Cormorants, shags and black guillemots can often be seen around the harbour.