Laide chapel and graveyard and Laide Wood

Church and Woods in Wester Ross

Chapel Of Sand Of Udrigil
CC BY-SA 2.0 / Roger McLachlan

Just south of Laide, the Laide Wood is an 85 hectare community woodland featuring deep watercourses, two lochans and a beautiful cascading waterfall. There’s an array of wildlife, especially dragonflies and five waymarked trails of varying length. There is some mystery surrounding the origins of Laide Chapel, which sits by the shore, overlooking Gruinard Bay. Also known as the Chapel of Sand of Udrigil, legend has it that it was built by Saint Columba. Others say it was constructed by George MacKenzie of Gruinard in the 1700’s. However, it is most likely the later work was a restoration of the early chapel. The chapel, now a Scheduled Ancient Monument, was abandoned in the 19th Century and services were held at a nearby cave.

The Laide chapel and graveyard and Laide Wood appears in our Complete Guide to Visiting Wester Ross!

This website uses affiliate links which may earn a commission at no additional cost to you!

Visiting Laide chapel and graveyard and Laide Wood

Duration: 20 minutes

Nearby Attractions

Tours and Activities from Wester Ross