Rua Reidh Lighthouse
Lighthouse in Wester Ross
Rua Reidh Lighthouse stands close to the entrance to Loch Ewe in Wester Ross, Scotland. The name “Rua Reidh” is a semi-anglicisation of “Rubha Rèidh” meaning a flat headland.
A lighthouse on Rubh’Re Point was first proposed by David Stevenson in 1853. Building was started by his son, David Alan Stevenson in 1908 and the light was first lit on 15 January 1912. The light came from a paraffin lamp, subsequently converted to electricity. The original Fresnel lens is now in the nearby Gairloch Heritage Museum. The fog siren gave 4 blasts every 90 seconds. The fog siren was discontinued in 1980 as well as all the fog sirens in Scotland. The red fog siren trumpet, along with its clockwork timing mechanism were removed and were donated to the Gairloch heritage center and put on display. The siren’s tower and engine room were partially demolished. All that is left is the first floor of the siren’s tower and the front facade of the engine room. The fog signal equipment was auctioned off and the pressurised air tanks were removed and sold for scrap.
This website uses affiliate links which may earn a commission at no additional cost to you!