Shieldaig Peninsula and Island
Village and Walk in Wester Ross
The village of Shieldaig is in a superb location and is perhaps best viewed from across the loch on the Applecross coast road. From here the village can be seen sitting below the mighty mountains of Torridon. Shieldaig was established in 1800 as a planned fishing village to encourage families into fishing and to build up a stock of trained seamen for the Royal Navy, during the Napoleonic wars. Grants from the Admiralty for house and boat building stopped in 1815 but Shieldaig continued to grow because the loch was well-known for its herring. The distinctive pine trees on Shieldaig Island, were planted to provide poles for drying fishermen’s nets but now provide a nesting site for a pair of white-tailed eagles (sometimes called sea eagles). From the front of Shieldaig village common seals can be seen at close quarters, along with eider ducks, oystercatchers and shags. The village has a range of tourist services and marine wildlife watching tours can be taken from the pontoon. From the north of the village there is a good path that takes you around the Shieldaig peninsula. Allow around an hour for the walk which has many lovely spots to admire the shoreline and look for otters and herons.