Arco de los Blanco

Area and Historic Building in Cádiz

This eastern gate through the old Roman wall into the city was called Puerta de Tierra (Door of Earth) when it was constructed during the 13th century by Alfonso X el Sabio. This wall was made of masonry and lime, crenelated and with towers.

It adjoined the Castle of the Villa, a medieval fortress that no longer exists. During the 16th century, a religious sculpture of the Virgin of the Remedies hung here. After 1621, when a merchant named Felipe Blanco built a private chapel in the same place, the arch was renamed after his family.

Other names of Arco de los Blanco

The Arco de los Blanco has the following names: Arch of the White.

This website uses affiliate links which may earn a commission at no additional cost to you!

Visiting Arco de los Blanco

Hours:

24 Hours


Price:

Free

Address: Calle Mesón, 22, 11005 Cádiz, Spain
Duration: 10 minutes

Tours and Activities from Cádiz