Brampton, Carlisle: The Complete Guide
Brampton is a small market town, civil parish and electoral ward within the City of Carlisle district of Cumbria, England, about 9 miles (14 km) east of Carlisle and 2 miles (3.2 km) south of Hadrian’s Wall. Historically part of Cumberland, it is situated off the A69 road which bypasses it. Brampton railway station, on the Newcastle and Carlisle Railway, is about a mile outside the town, near the hamlet of Milton.
Brampton, with a population of some 4000, is built of local sandstone, and situated in a hollow formed by glacial action which took place during the ice-age.
In the centre of the town is the octagonal Moot Hall, built in 1817, with an external staircase to its upper entrance, pointed windows and a square turret. The building now houses the Tourist Information Centre. East of the town is an exceptionally large motte, about 135 feet high. On it is a statue of the 7th Earl of Carlisle.
Visiting Brampton, Carlisle for the first time and wondering what are the top places to see in the city? In this complete guide, I share the best things to do in Brampton, Carlisle on the first visit. Top help you plan your trip, I have also included an interactive map and practical tips for visiting!
This website uses affiliate links which earn a small commission at no additional cost to you.
This complete guide to Brampton, Carlisle not only tells you about the very best sights and tourist attractions for first-time visitors to the city but also provide insights into a few of our personal favorite things to do.
This is a practical guide to visiting the best places to see in Brampton, Carlisle and is filled with tips and info that should answer all your questions!
Hadrian’s Wall – Milecastle 55 – Low Wall
Milecastle 55 (Low Wall) was a milecastle on Hadrian's Wall. The area of the mile fort is on a pasture east of the village of Walton. There are no more remains, only a slight elevation can be seen on a hedge. It measured 22 meters from east to west. Its north-south length is unknown. Remains of the wall (1.4 m high) have also been preserved near the fort.
Read our full blog post on Visiting Hadrian’s Wall – Milecastle 55 – Low Wall!
Address: Hadrian's Wall Path, Brampton CA8 2JR, UK | Hours: 24 Hours | Price: Free | Distance: 3.31km
Banks East Turret
Banks East Turret is the well-preserved remains of a wall turret located on Hadrians Wall, England. Banks East Turret is also known as Turret 52A. Banks East.
Read our full blog post on Visiting Banks East Turret!
Address: Pike Hill, Brampton, Cumbria, CA8 2BX | Hours: Open any reasonable time during daylight hours. | Price: £2 parking charge applies to non-members | Website | Distance: 5.78km
Piper Sike Turret
Piper Sike Turret, also known as Turret 51A, was built just after 122 AD. It stands independent of the wall, abutting the wall structure. Excavations in 1927 and again in 1970 showed an inner platform against the north wall which was probably a living space. Remains of cooking hearths and rubbish deposits were found in several places about the turret interior. The turret was probably only used for a brief time; by the 2nd century, it was abandoned. The walls now stand to an average height of 0.8 metres.
Read our full blog post on Visiting Piper Sike Turret!
Address: Wall Bowers, Brampton, Cumbria, CA8 2BX | Hours: Open any reasonable time during daylight hours. | Price: Free | Website | Distance: 7.22km
Hadrian’s Wall – Milecastle 50 – High House
Milecastle 50 (High House) was a milecastle on Hadrian's Wall. One of the two mile forts to secure the temporary peat wall, which have been explored a little more thoroughly. The other was at MK 25. It stood west of the Birdoswald Fort and was excavated in 1934. The defensive walls were made of heaped peat, the northern gate tower was made of wood. It belonged to the long axis type (dimensions of the surrounding wall: 20.12 m × 16.76 m), the stone foundations were 6.1 m wide. According to an inscription on an oak panel - it contained the names of the emperor Hadrian and his governor Aulus Platorius Nepos - the castle was built in the 2nd century. There are no visible remains. The support structure of the north gate consisted of five 23 cm wide posts. The south gate was slightly smaller and supported on six posts (three on each side). During the investigations, traces of the internal development could also be observed. On the east wall stood a 9.14 m × 3.66 m large, rectangular wooden building. It was divided into two unequally large rooms, one with a fireplace. To the north of the building there was another fireplace, to the northeast were the remains of the staircase leading to the battlement. Next to the south gate was a ceramic pot that was partially buried in the ground and had a drain. Presumably it was used as a toilet. The northern moat could be crossed by a stone-paved dam. This was later widened. There were traces of a drainage channel made of wood under the dam, which had subsequently been lined with stones. The excavations of 1934 showed that the mile fort was demolished according to plan as part of the first phase of the expansion of the stone wall (west of MK 49).
Read our full blog post on Visiting Hadrian’s Wall – Milecastle 50 – High House!
Address: Hadrian's Wall Path, Brampton CA8 7DD, UK | Hours: 24 Hours | Price: Free | Distance: 9.13km
Leahill Turret is a typical example of one of the lookout towers located between the milecastles on Hadrian's Wall in Cumbria; located on the Lanercost Road near Banks, Parish of Waterhead. It is designated turret 51b and lies east of the Signal Tower at Pike Hill. Leahill turret spans 13.5 feet by 14.5 feet.
Read our full blog post on Visiting Leahill Turret!
Address: Wall Bowers, Brampton, Cumbria, CA8 2BX | Hours: Open any reasonable time during daylight hours | Price: Free | Website | Distance: 10.07km
Hadrian’s Wall – Milecastle 49 – Harrow's Scar
Milecastle 49 (Harrows Scar) was a milecastle on Hadrian's Wall. The mile fort stood on a cliff - known today as "Harrow's Scar" - on the western edge of the Irthing Gorge. In 1939 a building inscription was found in the rubble. It is now in the Tullie House Museum in Carlisle. The fortification itself was made in 1953 by Ian Archibald Richmondexcavated. He uncovered the remains of one of the gates and the previous building, a wood-earth fortification. The latter measured 16.6 meters from north to south and 15.4 meters from east to west. Archaeological investigations carried out in 1967 on the west wall of the mile fort confirmed the results of Ian Richmond. The crew barracks inside could not be examined. The MK was probably surrounded by a double moat. It was built in stone in the 2nd century and measured 23 meters from north to south and 20 meters from east to west. Sections of the western and eastern part of the wall as well as remains of the interior buildings are still visible. An altar dedicated to the forest god Silvanus was also found near the fort (today in the collection of the Tullie House Museum).
Read our full blog post on Visiting Hadrian’s Wall – Milecastle 49 – Harrow's Scar!
Address: Hadrian's Wall Path, Brampton CA8 7DA, UK | Hours: 24 Hours | Price: Free | Distance: 10.49km
Hadrian’s Wall – Milecastle 64 – Drawdykes
Milecastle 64 (Drawdykes) was a milecastle on Hadrian's Wall. The mile fort was excavated in 1962 by P. F. Fane-Gladwin. It was a short-axis type fort, internal dimensions: 17.8 m × 14.6 m. The walls were almost completely destroyed by stone robbery. The north gate was 3 m wide and was bricked up again in ancient times. In the middle of the fortification ran a 5 m wide paved road that connected the two gates. Subsequently, a fragment of a Roman milestone (inscription "MP") was recovered on the west side of the mile fort. It is in the collection of the Carlisle Museum.
Read our full blog post on Visiting Hadrian’s Wall – Milecastle 64 – Drawdykes!
Address: The Bungalow, Brampton Old Rd, Carlisle CA6 4RH, UK | Hours: 24 Hours | Price: Free | Distance: 11.45km
Hadrian’s Wall – Milecastle 48 – Poltross Burn
Milecastle 48 (Poltross Burn), is a milecastle on Hadrian's Wall. The mile fort is located in the village of Gilsland, between a tributary of the Irthing and the railway line of the Tyne Valley Line, directly behind the station building. The square is also known by the local population as "The King's Stables". The fort is also described on a display board set up on site by English Heritage for visitors. It is located on the best-preserved section or near the transition between the wide and narrow version of Hadrian's Wall. The neighboring MK 47 is located around 1521 m west and MK 49 1458 m east of Poltross Burn, the Stanegate fort Throp200 m south. It is one of the best preserved small forts on the wall. Its remains were discovered in 1909 by J. P. Gibson and F. G. Simpson. The remains of the wall were restored or conserved and made accessible to visitors in a display area.
Read our full blog post on Visiting Hadrian’s Wall – Milecastle 48 – Poltross Burn!
Address: 3 Riversdale, Gilsland, Brampton CA8 7BJ, UK | Distance: 11.61km
Hadrian’s Wall – Milecastle 47 – Chapel House
Milecastle 47 (Chapel House) was a milecastle on Hadrian's Wall. The mile fort stood about 270 m east of the Chapel House in a pasture near the village of Gilsland. There are no visible remains. The area of the fort can only be recognized by a slight elevation in the ground. The fortification fell victim to stone robbery over time. For this purpose, explosives were also used in the 19th century. The mile fort was examined in 1935. According to the findings of the north gate, it belonged to long axis type II (internal dimensions: 22 m from north to south, 18.28 m from east to west).
Read our full blog post on Visiting Hadrian’s Wall – Milecastle 47 – Chapel House!
Address: New Hall, Brampton CA8 7HX, UK | Hours: 24 Hours | Price: Free | Distance: 12.92km
Roman Army Museum
Roman Army Museum is a museum located on Hadrians Wall in the North of England. Modernised and reopened in 2011 it is run by the Vindolanda Trust and is located at the Roman Fort of Magnis, which is now known as Carvoran Roman Fort. The museum has three galleries covering the Roman army and its Empire. The museum displays genuine Roman artifacts from the excavations at Vindolanda and include weapons and armor, coins and leather and wooden artifacts which allow you to step into the life of a Roman soldier living on the front line of Emperor Hadrian’s Wall.
There is a 3D film showing Hadrian's Wall past and present, and a large timeline of the history of the Wall. One of the galleries describes daily life in the Roman army as seen through the eyes of a team of eight auxiliary soldiers, complete with a film showing their activities.
Read our full blog post on Visiting Roman Army Museum!
Address: Roman Army Museum Greenhead Brampton CA8 7JB United Kingdom | Hours: 10am-6pm Apr-Sep, to 5pm mid-Feb–Mar & Oct | Price: Adult/Child £6.89/3.80 with Vindolanda £12.15/6.85 | Website | Distance: 14.57km