Santuário de Nossa Senhora dos Remédios

Church in Vila Real

Santuário De Nossa Senhora Dos Remédios
CC BY-SA 3.0 / Concierge.2C

Situated on Mount St. Stephen (Monte de Santo Estêvão), the Marian shrine constructed between the 18th and 20th centuries attracts pilgrims from across the country, particularly on September 8th, the Nativity of the Virgin and the pinnacle of the festivities in honor of Our Lady of Remedies. The celebrations usually feature fireworks, musical performances, and a range of sports and recreational activities amid the dense grove of the pleasant Santo Estêvão Park. The highpoint of the event is the Procession of the Triumph, with its splendidly adorned participants.

In the Middle Ages, Catholic worship was conducted in an old hermitage dedicated to Santo Estevão that was built in 1361. However, due to the risk of collapse, it was demolished in the 16th century, and the Bishop of Lamego initiated the construction of a new hermitage at the same location, where an image of the Virgin and Child was placed. Over time, worship of St. Stephen was gradually replaced by Marian devotion. In 1750, the construction of the current sanctuary began, and it was only completed in 1905.

The monumental Baroque staircase, consisting of 686 steps, provides access to the sanctuary and is divided into several levels adorned with sculptural elements, including statues of kings, the backrests of eight fountains, and various allegorical representations, such as the Remédios fountain by Nicolau Nasoni. Halfway up the staircase is the Chapel of Desterro.

The interior of the temple is entirely devoted to Marian iconography and is decorated in the Rocaille style. The main altar, gilded carvings, altarpieces dedicated to the Virgin’s parents, three stained-glass windows featuring images of Our Lady of the Conception, the Sacred Heart of Jesus, and the Annunciation, and the tiles created by the Conimbrigan artist Miguel Costa that depict key moments in Mary’s life all bear witness to this. The tomb of the sanctuary’s founder, Canon Jose Teixeira Pinto, is located at the entrance of the nave.

The Santuário de Nossa Senhora dos Remédios appears in our Complete Guide to Visiting Vila Real!

This website uses affiliate links which may earn a commission at no additional cost to you!

Visiting Santuário de Nossa Senhora dos Remédios


Winter: 8.30 a.m.- 1.30 p.m. / 1.30 p.m.-6.00 p.m.;

summer 8.30 a.m. – 7.00 p.m.

Address: Santuário de Nossa Senhora dos Remédios, Lamego, Portugal
Duration: 45 minutes
Powered by GetYourGuide

Nearby Attractions