Lighthouse in Isle of Mull
Rubha nan Gall lighthouse is located north of Tobermory on the Isle of Mull beside the Sound of Mull. The name means “Stranger’s Point” in Scottish Gaelic. It was built in 1857 by David and Thomas Stevenson and is operated by the Northern Lighthouse Board. The lighthouse was automated in 1960 and the nearby former keepers’ cottages are privately owned.
The recently renovated path to the impressive Rubha nan Gall Lighthouse features stunning views over to the mainland and Tobermory Harbour.
In August 2013, the former keepers’ cottages were sold and after extensive renovation work, one is a private home and the other is a self-catering cottage. Access is by sea or a 1.3-mile (2.1-kilometre) footpath from Tobermory along the steep wooded coastline. The cottages have no mains electricity or water; instead a private spring supplies water, while an off-grid solar system provides power.