Historic Building in Bilbao
The Bilbao City Council occupies the site of the old convent of San Agustín, destroyed during the First Carlist War. It was built in 1892 by the municipal architect Joaquín Rucoba, who also designed the Arriaga Theater.
Carried out in the French Second Empire style, the building stands out for the resounding, elegant and markedly horizontal lines of its exterior, whose main façade is decorated with sculptures by Fiat and the team made up of Garamendi, Basterra and Larrea.
The luxurious interiors lamps, paintings, windows, furniture, sculptures and busts of the plenary hall are in the neo-Renaissance style, the lobby or the body of stairs, with the exquisite neo-Arabic style of the reception hall, the work of local craftsman José Soler, who decorated this room with imitations of marble, wood and ivory.