Mariana Islands Travel Guide

The volcanic Northern Mariana Islands in the western Pacific Ocean, are a crescent-shaped archipelago. They comprise comprise of 16 islands, 6 of which are inhabited. The islands lie east of the Philippines, south of Japan and north-east of Guam. They extend 350 miles from north to south.

The southern islands are limestone, with level terraces and fringing coral reefs. The northern islands are volcanic, with active volcanoes on several islands, including Anatahan, Agrihan, and Pagan.

Most people base their holiday in Mariana Islands on the the largest island, Saipan, from there you can take a small plane ride to one of the outlying islands to see stunning ocean caves, white beaches and azure waters. The Mariana Islands have several active and dormant volcanoes, including Mount Pagan, Asuncion, and Farallon de Pajaros. The islands remains best known for their tropical weather, excellent swimming and scuba diving from pristine beaches, and historical reminders of World War II.

They are a self-governing entity in association with the United States.

Tours and Activities from Mariana Islands