Greyfriars Priory, Gloucester

Historic Site and Monastery in Gloucester

Greyfriars, Gloucester April 2016
CC BY-SA 4.0 / Philafrenzy

The Franciscan house of Greyfriars was founded in 1231 on land granted to the church by Lord Berkeley. It was one of three Gloucester monasteries supported by Henry III.

By 1285 the priory was home to the forty begging friars – religious men who had all taken vows of poverty, chastity and obedience – that were locked into a series of disputes with the monks of St Peter’s. This culminated in a quarrel over their shared water supply in the 14th century which had to be settled by Edward the Black Prince. The Franciscans won.

In 1518 the church was rebuilt in its present form, again with the help of the Berkeley family. The priory’s layout is of particular architectural interest due to the fact its nave and north aisle are of almost equal height and width, the only example of this in this country.

The remains of the priory can still be seen in Gloucester city centre today.

Visiting Greyfriars Priory, Gloucester

Hours:

Any reasonable daylight hours


Price:

Free

Address: Greyfriars Walk, Gloucester, Gloucestershire, GL1 2EZ
Duration: 10 minutes

Tours and Activities from Gloucester

Balnakeil Beach & Faraid Head

Beach and Monastery in Sutherland

Balnakeil Beach From Faraid Head
CC BY-SA 2.0 / Heather Holdridge

Balnakeil, a little over a mile north west of the village of Durness, is a magical place. The beach is wide and white and is backed to the east by a huge expanse of tall dunes covered in marram grass. Overlooking the bay are Balnakeil House, at one time seat of the Clan MacKay, and Balnakeil Church, which is thought to be built on the site of an 8th century monastery founded by the Irish monk, Mael Rubha. A magnificent walk takes you north to Faraid Head. Seals and even minke whales can be seen all round the headland and in summer the cliffs are thronged with seabirds. Look out for rare and beautiful flowers such as the Scottish primrose and Grass of Parnassus. The headland is also home to military installations connected with the naval gunnery ranges towards Cape Wrath. As you return to Durness from Balnakeil Bay, keep a look out on your right for the collection of old military buildings that have for many years housed the Balnakeil Craft Village.

Visiting Balnakeil Beach & Faraid Head

Duration: 20 minutes

Tours and Activities from Sutherland

Convento de Santo Domingo El Antiguo

Monastery and Museum in Toledo

Convento De Santo Domingo El Antiguo, Teledo
CC BY-SA 3.0 / Yildori

The Monasterio de Santo Domingo de Silos (el Antiguo) or Monastery of Saint Dominic of Silos (the Old) is a Cistercian convent in Toledo, Spain. It is believed to have been founded in the 6th century. Its rebuilding after the Conquest of Toledo by King Alfonso VI of Leon and Castile is mentioned by the historian Pedro de Alcocer. King Alfonso had it dedicated to St Dominic of Silos. It was Cluniac before becoming a nunnery of the Cistercian order. The convent underwent major rebuilding work in the second half of the 16th century, in which the mudéjar church was demolished. The new building was begun by Nicolás de Vergara and completed by the royal architect Juan de Herrera.

The cloister contains the grave of El Greco and there is a small museum that displays his first paintings from when he arrived in Toledo. There are also wooden and stone sculptures, reredos, fabrics, ceramics, liturgical music and sepulchral slabs that are worth seeing.

Visiting Convento de Santo Domingo El Antiguo

Hours:

11am-1.30pm & 4-7pm Mon-Sat, 4-7pm Sun


Price:

adult/child €2.50/free

Address: Convento de Santo Domingo El Antiguo, Plaza Santo Domingo Antiguo, Toledo, Spain
Duration: 20 minutes

Tours and Activities from Toledo